A new law in California requires employers to provide paid family leave for workers and their dependents.
The bill, signed into law by Gov.
Jerry Brown in August, makes California the first state to require paid family time off for new mothers, fathers, grandparents and other dependents under the Family and Medical Leave Act.
The legislation, which goes into effect on March 1, requires employers with 50 or more employees to provide at least 15 hours of paid family care per week to workers who are pregnant or expect to become pregnant.
The new law also requires employers offering paid family and medical leave to pay at least 10 percent of employees’ pay in a supplemental insurance plan.
The law also allows workers to take time off at the end of their shifts.
The state Department of Insurance has issued guidance to employers, including in the healthcare industry, on how to provide this benefit.
“California has been a leader in expanding family leave policies for new moms and dads, and this new legislation is a critical step toward ensuring that we continue to make the most of our precious family time,” said Assemblywoman Lorena Gonzalez (D-Bell Gardens).
“This law also helps to keep California ahead of the curve when it comes to protecting workers in the workplace.
I’m excited to be part of helping create more paid family leaves in the coming years.”
The legislation was approved unanimously by the California Assembly on July 13.
The Associated Press contributed to this report.